Skip to main content

Washington County, AR Governing Bodies

County Level: Quorum Court

The Quorum Court is the legislative body of county government and is composed of 15 members called Justices of the Peace elected to two-year terms. Each JP represents a district of roughly equal population.

Watch Quorum Court Meetings Live

Watch Archived Quorum Court Meetings


City Level: Fayetteville City Council

The City of Fayetteville operates under a Mayor-Council form of government. In this system, the City Council is the legislative and policy-making body of city government. The Fayetteville City Council sets City policy by passing ordinances and resolutions. The Council also determines the City budget and appoints and removes certain Board, Committee, and Commission members.

Watch City Council Meetings Live

Watch Archived City Council Meetings


City Level: Fayetteville Committees

Looking to get involved in your local city government? Join a committee! Committee members must reside in Fayetteville.

List of Committees in Fayetteville

  • Arkansas Public Policy Panel
  • Hispanic Women's Organization of Arkansas
  • Mental Health America in Northwest Arkansas
  • American Association of University Women
  • Women's History Coalition of Washington County